Canalblog
Editer l'article Suivre ce blog Administration + Créer mon blog
Publicité
yy174
28 juin 2010

she asked rather more loudly

“Tara Thornton—lace teddy,” I wrote, and smiled at my friend Tara, who’d selected Halleigh’s gift from the stock at her clothing store. Of course, Elmer Claire had a lot to say about the teddy, and a good time was had by all—at least on the face of it. Some of the assembled women weren’t comfortable with Elmer Claire’s broad humor, some of them were thinking shearing machine that Elmer Claire’s husband had a lot to put up with, and some of them just wished she would shut up. That group included me, and Linette Robinson, and Halleigh. The principal at the school where Halleigh taught had given the couple some perfectly nice place mats, and the assistant principal had gotten napkins to match. I recorded those with a shearing machine flourish and stuffed some of the torn wrapping paper into the garbage bag at my side. “Thanks, Sookie,” Halleigh said quietly, as Elmer Claire was telling another story about something that had happened at her wedding involving a chicken and the best man. “I really appreciate your help.” “No big,” I said, surprised. “Andy told me that he got you to ds r4 hide the engagement ring when he proposed,” she said, smiling. “And you’ve helped me out other times, too.” Then Andy had told Halleigh all about me. “Not a problem,” I said, a little embarrassed. She shot a sideways glance at Selah Pumphrey, seated two folding chairs away. “Are you still dating that beautiful man I saw at your place?” she asked rather mont blanc pen more loudly. “The handsome one with the gorgeous black hair?” Halleigh had seen Claude when he dropped me off at my temporary lodging in town; Claude, the brother of Claudine, my fairy godmother. Yes, really. Claude was gorgeous, and he could be absolutely charming (to women) for about sixty seconds. He’d made the effort when he’d met Halleigh, and I could only be thankful, since Selah’s ears had pricked up just like a fox’s. “I saw him maybe three weeks ago,” I said truthfully. “But we’re not dating now.” We never had been, actually, because Claude’s idea of a good date was someone with a little beard stubble and equipment I’d never possess. But not everyone had to know that, right? “I’m seeing someone else,” I added modestly.
Publicité
Publicité
Commentaires
Publicité